RSS

Listening to music differently

29 Jun

I just thought I’d share with you a little insight into how music is for me these days. Switch off now if you think this might send you to sleep or keep reading if your an insomniac…

Since I started creating my own music, I now listen to music completely differently and constantly find myself analysing other people’s tracks with an almost obsession like persistence. Whether its thinking about how an artist got a particular kick drum to sound like that or working out how the strings are arranged, I just can’t help it…..I think this thirst for musical knowledge has taken over my life!

As I’m not a ‘proper’ musician (although I’m learning more every day), the most difficult part to write and to lay down properly for me is the bassline. I might write a track (without a bassline) and then start to hum a workable bass riff in with it, but when you try and play that into the track – it somehow is very difficult to get across the energy or feel that you want. For this side of things I can see myself having to collaborate to get the feel that I want. And the thing is, the bass is so key to all the music that I want to create. Without a nice bassline to underpin it all, its easy for a track to not hit the heights it could do…which is why I really listen to other people’s basslines, to see what they did and how they did it….I urge you to try it yourself, as the bassline is an essential part of any modern soul track. Trust me…

My fave part of the listening and creative process is the keys and the percussion, which give me hours of fun and creativity. That feeling when a chord progression or a lead synth line hits the spot is amazing. Soulful house tracks in particular focus on this aspect and when they get it right, its amazing – think ‘Superman’ by Black Coffee – just listen to the keys – they’re amazing.

When I’m working on my own stuff, the rest of the track is shaped around those two components….be it a string harmony or a nice warm pad unpinning the verses – for me, it all needs to stem from the chords/keys and the percussion.

So, what I’m trying to say is, go out there and really listen to a track. Put your headphones on to get the full effect and hear how the producer has separated the hi-hats from the shakers or how the strings have a nice panning effect on them….honestly, you’ll appreciate the music that little bit more…

OK, is everyone fast asleep now? haha! Good night, God bless…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in News

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Listening to music differently

  1. Steve Jewell

    June 29, 2011 at 22:38

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ Sorry mate did you say something LOL…..
    We know and trust you Neil so not only am I sure what your saying is completely true but I am now only listening to music on me headphones!!!! Keep up the great work mate 🙂

     

Leave a comment